FAQs on Indian ETA Visa

FAQs on Indian ETA Visa

By in
No comments

Are you planning a trip to India? Well, there are a couple of things you need to understand before booking that flight to avoid any inconveniences on your side. It is compulsory for anyone hoping to visit India to have a valid visa. However, there’s an option to apply for an international Indian ETA visa online for those whose visits purpose is tourism/leisure, short business, and medical reasons.

1. What is an Indian ETA visa?

You have probably heard the term ETA mentioned before especially if you are a traveling enthusiast. ETA simply stands for Electronic Travel Authorization, but on the Indian application forms it will be filed as ‘Visa on Arrival’. This is because your biometrics will be taken on arrival to the airport as well as visa stamping. It permits you to stay in India for up to 30 days and allows 2 visits per year. The visa only permits a single entry.

2. When should I apply for an Indian ETA visa?

Let not the term ‘visa on arrival’ confuse you, visa issuance is not available on arrival to India. Therefore, you need to apply for the Indian ETA visa at least 4 days before your flight but do not exceed 30 days.

3. Am I eligible for an Indian ETA visa?

Currently, India allows for citizens from around 136 countries to apply for the visa. These countries include the United States, Australia, Russia, Kenya, Japan, Israel, Brazil, Germany et cetera. You can look up online to check whether the services are available in your country.
Citizens of Pakistani origin are however required to apply for their visas using the traditional means and not the online alternative.

4. Does the ETA give me full access to all airports in India and the country in general?

While using the ETA India you are allowed to enter the country through some of these airports Bangalore (Bengaluru), Mumbai, Delhi, Goa, Chennai, Cochin, Kolkata, Hyderabad, and Trivandrum. It is, however, advisable to check in with the Indian Immigration for the latest updates to avoid unnecessary delays.

Some areas, luckily not most, require a special visa to visit. These areas include Port Blair, Nicobar Islands, Arunachal Pradesh, Sikkim, Ladakh, Nagaland, Mizoram etc. Remember, generally to gain Indian entry you will need a return ticket and provide proof that you have sufficient funds to last your stay.

You will need to upload a passport photo when applying for the Indian ETA visa. Once your application for the visa is approved you will need to print it and carry it with you, where on arrival in India, the officials will request to see it. Do enjoy your visit to India.